Han Dynasty (206BC-220)

Han Dynasty was an important dynasty in history of China. It contributed to the Chinese culture and civilization. After Qin was overthrew by the peasants rebellion, Liu Bang and Xiang Yu were two leaders that struggled to seize the regime position of a new dynasty. They have gone against each other and at last Liu Bang defeated Xiang Yu to be the first emperor of Han dynasty. Chang’an became capital during the Han Dynasty after a short national war.
Facts of the Han Dynasty
Time: 206B.C.-220 A.D.
Capital: Chang an, in today's Xian City
Emperors: Han Wudi, Wendi, Jingdi
Replaced by: Three Kingdoms

In Chinese history, Han consisted of two dynasties: the Western Han (206 BC - 24 AD) and the Eastern Han (25 - 220). During the period there were 24 emperors on the throne. Many were excellent contributing to the prosperity of the country with Emperors Gaozu, Wen, Jing and Wu among them.

Western Han Dynasty
In 207 BC, the army led by Liu Bang conquered the troops of the Qin Dynasty (221 - 207BC) at Julu (currently Hebei Province) and in 206 BC he seized Xianyang (the capital city of the Qin Dynasty), thus ending the rule of Qin. In the same year, he defeated his rival, Xiang Yu, and established the Han Dynasty (206BC - 220AD). Chang'an (the present Xian) was made its capital city in 202BC. 

Eastern Han Dynasty
The Eastern Han Dynasty (25 AD - 220 AD) was Regarded as a continuation of the Western Han Dynasty (206 BC - 24 AD).Founded by Liu Xiu,who became the Emperor Guangwu,With Luoyang in Henan Province as its capital city, the Eastern Han Dynasty was reined over by 12 emperors in a span of 195 years.

Ask Questions ?