Shanhaiguan Pass Great Wall

Shanhaiguan Pass, located 5 kilometers northeast of Qinhuangdao City in Hebei Province, is one of the northeast gates of the Ming Great Wall.  Considered to be the starting point of the eastern end of the Ming Great Wall, Shanhaiguan Pass is praised as one of the three most unique passes of the Great Wall in China, the others are Zhenbeitai Pass in the middle and Jiayuguan Pass in the west. In ancient times, Shanhaiguan Pass was hailed as "the first pass in China" and was an important military place to defend Beijing. It echoes the Jiayuguan Pass far away, and is famous all over the world.
Built in the fourteenth year of Emperor Hongwu (1381) during the Ming Dynasty(1368-1645),the city wall of Shanhaiguan Pass has a circumference of about 4 kilometers and is connected to the Great Wall. The city wall is a gate with a height of 14 meters and a thickness of 7 meters. It has four main gates and various defense buildings including "the world's first pass" tower, Jingbian Tower, Muying Tower, Linlv Tower,  Gaocheng Tower, and the 1350-meter-long Great Wall of the Ming Dynasty in the plain.
On March 4, 1961, Shanhaiguan was announced by the State Council  of China as the first batch of national key cultural relics protection units. As  one of sections of the Great Wall, it was listed as a World Cultural Heritage in December 1987.

Travel Tips
Add: 5 km south of Shanhaiguan City, Qinhuangdao City
Opening hours: 07: 00-18: 00
Entrance Fees: CNY30

Ask Questions ?